top of page

My Extraordinary Space Experience

I have been reflecting a lot about my experiences and thinking so much about our experiences that we can't find explanations for. A few years back, I suddenly fell to an intense sickness. This sickness came one week after a tough healing ritual for a family member. While sick and in bed, I was tossing and turning, had a high fever, intense migraine, muscle pain, and fatigue. I couldn't breath and couldn't even open my eyes. It felt like I was being burnt all over my body. This was a year prior to anything covid related. As symptoms worsened, I decided to burn incense and joss at my altar, asking my shaman guides for guidance. Shortly after burning joss at my altar, I immediately went back to bed. I experienced something that to this day, I still can't explain.


I was in space. Literal space. Floating in the black matter and emptiness. I knew it was space because I could see the stars and galaxies from far away. It didn't feel like a dream. In this experience, I didn't question it. I wasn't afraid. It felt "normal" or "routine" in a sense. I don't remember seeing color. I was there among thousands of others on what looked like this very large rotating wheel barrel. I can't explain how it looked like, but the closest thing I can compare it to is a wooden wheel barrel. We were all dressed in robes, like Buddhist monks. None of us had hair on our body. No one had hair, no eye brows, no eye lashes... This barrel just kept rotating and us with it. I think the barrel was upright, although I can't recall a sense of direction. I believe we were moving in space. I tried talking but nothing came out. I could feel, internally, or telepathically, what people were feeling. I could feel them and hear them in my feelings. I just remember looking at everyone and there were thousands of others dressed in robes, just there like I was. I looked downward, which was just forward where the dividing sections met in the center (like the barrel in the photo below). It was just rows upon rows of people lined up and sitting. I couldn't see where it ended because it was so big and so deep. I was looking into a stadium or arena that never ended. My vision of the people and this barrel just went into an abyss because of how large this thing was that we were in. I still remember floating and not standing on anything. It wasn't terrifying and it felt like I knew what to do. It felt like we all knew what to do even though I don't know what that is. It was pitch black because we were somewhere in space, among the galaxies and the stars, but I could also see this large wheel barrel arena type ship that we were all in just going somewhere.


I can't find the words to even scratch on the surface of how this experience felt. This experience felt like a revelation. I've never seen or felt anything like it before. It didn't feel like a dream. It didn't feel like a shamanic trance either. It felt like being in hypnosis, maybe? It felt like I was actually there. It felt like I was going home or something similar. It felt more like an out of body experience but not having any control of what was happening within me and around me. I don't know how it feels like to die, but it felt like I died. It felt like I left my body. My body was so light and almost physically non-existent anymore. It felt like there was no physical body. I didn't remember anything about my family or had no memories of anything or anyone. I didn't even know who I was in this experience but something about it felt okay.


Waking up from this experience, I was immediately healed. The sickness just went away...


Whatever your thoughts are on astro-projection or the belief in other life forms in the universe, there's no doubt that many people share similar experiences of this "out of body" experience. The most powerful human experience are those that we can't understand. It's those that our senses can't find answers to. Our five senses are so limited, even so for some of us who have a sixth sense. I can't find the words to explain this experience because it felt like a sensation and an experience that what I could see, touch, feel, taste, or smell just can't explain. Even my own rooted knowledge of ancestral shamanism can't find an explanation. However, I do think that the shaman, and others like us, are just scratching the very tip of what the universe is. I don't think we're going to ever be able to understand or comprehend the workings of the universe.


TFL Hmong Shaman

bottom of page